EYE OF THE TIGER

The time has come (read this with the Rocky theme song NOT the Jaws soundtrack in your mind)… we have finally made it to the week of the race! It is almost time to celebrate with friends and family as you gracefully sprint (or walk or pant or crawl) across that final timing mat. Until that beautiful moment, remember to take care of yourself, stay healthy, don’t overdo it, and most importantly… have fun! We are so impressed by the amount of effort all of our athletes put into preparing for our race and are excited for you to embrace that feeling of accomplishment as you champion your goal and cross that finish line. Whatever reason is behind participating in our run—you are training, you are looking to lose weight, you’re aiming to complete your first 5K, 10K, or triathlon… heck, maybe you are one of those amazing creatures that just enjoys running and competing—we are so happy you have chosen our race to be a part of whatever journey you are on!

For those of you who have been following our blog since it first began, you’ll know that we selected Oakley as our Face of the Race. The original idea had been to touch base with Oakley throughout her training to gain perspective on someone’s individual journey to train for our race. Luckily for us, and probably for you too (no one needs to read all of MY ramblings on a weekly basis), Oakley happens to enjoying writing and blogging. And so a beautiful bi-weekly entry was born. For the final week of the race, we wanted to try and give our amazing Face of the Race a chance to relax and focus on her training. With that in mind, we did a more straightforward interview so she wouldn’t have to pour quite as much energy into this post. Take a read as Oakley reflects upon her journey as our Face of the Race…

Race on the Base:  Has being the Face of the Race impacted your training?

Oakley: Yes, in a way. Now the pressure is really on to not finish last!

ROTB: Have you stuck to your original training goals?

Oakley: I have done really well for the most part. I’ve hit a lot of stumbling blocks this last month or so. The cold and dry conditions sent me into the gym instead of running outdoor. And that spoiled my training a little bit. And as I finally got back on track again, I had some other health issues that interfere with my schedule.  I still have not been able to hit the entire 5K in one shot yet so I am certainly not on my target.

ROTB:  What was the distance you could run when you first started?

Oakley: A block, if I was lucky.

ROTB:  How have you improved over time?

Oakley: I can run a stretch of almost a mile now.

ROTB:  What is the hardest part of training for a run such as this?

Oakley: Breaking through my endurance limit.  I haven’t been able to push past the 15-minute mark yet. I have to switch to walking at that one mile mark. 

ROTB:  What is the easiest part?

Oakley: Just getting out the door. That’s the easiest part of all because I really do want to run.

ROTB: What is your training plan as we head into the last week before the race?

Oakley: First, I would like to get healthy again, and I’m working on that.  I would like to be able to get one more 5K in before trying to run 20-25 minutes in one stretch.

ROTB: Do you have a race day routine in mind for your first race?

Oakley: Other than figuring out how to get my wig and wings on? Not really.  I’m really excited that my friend and half-marathoner Amy is coming down from LA to do the 10K to support me at my first race! Amy was the one who inspired me to get running in the first place.  I have a few more friends who are running. A couple of them are running with their 2-month old baby! 

ROTB:  Do you have any running habits or superstitions?

Oakley: Unless the fate of USC football depends upon it, I do not have any superstitions. Kidding. My running habit is that I like to run on a mostly empty stomach, so I prefer running in the morning.  I would roll out of bed, take a big tablespoon full of raw honey, drink half a glass of water, warm-up and stretches, and then out the door. 

ROTB: Do you have any post-race plans?

Oakley: I hope to stick around and cheer on my friend Ana Cholo who is doing her first triathlon! (Fight on, girlfriend!)

ROTB: Do you think that you will continue to run after you have achieved your goal?

Oakley: Absolutely. I may not get past 5K (seriously, I really don’t have the attention span for it), but I will definitely keep running.

ROTB: Will your performance at Race on the Base impact your future running plans?

Oakley: I hope that it will motivate me to run more race. As of right now, I’ve already signed up for the Long Beach Marathon 5K!

ROTB: What is your main goal for race day?

Oakley: Don’t finish last. That’s it. That’s all!

 

Don’t forget to sign up for our race so you can join Oakley and our other amazing participants as they compete this Saturday! Register at www.raceonthebase.com. Your race entry includes a long sleeve black shirt, a medal, a cinch bag (not pictured, but it is a backpack with our logo), AND a free lunch from Johnny Reb’s BBQ. If you’re not in the mood to run, sign up for the great shirt! If you couldn’t care less about the shirt, run to get the cool dog tag medal or the convenient little bag! Still not convinced? Everyone has to eat! That settles it folks… there’s no good reason to NOT come! So we’ll see you there!

awards

One thought on “EYE OF THE TIGER

  1. I thought I wasn’t going to make it to Saturday! I had a case of benign positional vertigo on Tuesday. I didn’t know it was going to recover in time. Thank goodness I’m already back on my feet today! Phew.

Leave a Reply

